PSL -Onyango Wins Seventh Title as Sundowns leapfrog Chiefs on final day

Niwandinda Daniel
Views: 7
0 0
Read Time:1 Minute, 9 Second

For the seventh time in history, Denis Onyango is a league champion in the Premier Soccer League in South Africa after Mamelodi Sundowns piped Kaizer Chiefs on the final day to win the 2019/20 championship.
The Brazilians, without injured Onyango beat Black Leopards 3-0 to finish top of the log with 59 points from 30 games, two ahead of Chiefs who were held 1-1 by Baroka FC.
By clicking submit, you agree to share your email address with Kawowo Sports to receive marketing, updates, and other emails. Use the unsubscribe link in those emails to opt out at any time.
Going into the game, Sundowns needed not only victory but also a favour from Baroka to deny Chiefs maximum points and they got both.
Despite missing a penalty early in the game through Ricardo Nascimento, Sundowns scored three times through Lebohang Maboe.
At the other end, Chiefs had their lead handed to them by Zimbabwean playmaker Khama Billiat cancelled out in the second half.
Onyango’s first three titles in the PSL came while at SuperSport United between 2007 and 2010.
At Sundowns, he has lifted four more; 2015/16, 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/20.
Other trophies won by the legendary Ugandan international include the 2016 Caf Champions League, 2017 Caf Super Cup, the Nedbank Cup in 2015 as well as the Telkom Knockout Cup in 2015.

Follow Us on Social Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

Isaac Nsengiyunva: Defensive midfielder pens 3 year at Express FC

Advertisements Defensive midfielder Isaac Nsengiyunva 20, has joined Express Football Club on a three year deal Holding midfielder Isaac Nsengiyunva, 20, has joined Express Football Club. He joins from Mukono based regional outfit Free Stars Football Club and signed a three employment contract. Nsengiyunva is nick-named “Muganda” and has since […]

You May Like

%d bloggers like this: